Cookie policy on the European Parliament Office in Ireland website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.


European Elections in Ireland

Direct elections to the European Parliament take place every 5 years. The first direct elections took place in 1979. Up until then Irish MEPs were nominated by the Dáil and Seanad.

The last elections to the European Parliament took place across Europe from 22-25 May 2014 and in Ireland on 23 May 2014, when a total of 11 MEPs were elected in three constituencies:  Dublin, Midlands-North West and South.   The newly-elected members of the European Parliament formally took up their seats on 1 July 2014.