Commands X

Cookie policy on the European Parliament Office in Ireland website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.


Reverse link define here :reverse_link_6bis-MEPsLiam Aylward

Constituency: East
European Party: Reverse link define here :reverse_link_4_EP_Political_groupsALDE
Irish Party: Reverse link define here :reverse_link_8_Irish_pol_groupsFianna Fáil

Address: Aghaviller, Hugginstown, Co. Kilkenny
Telephone: 056 776 8703



  • Committee on Agriculture and Rural Development
  • Committee on Culture and Education (substitute member)


  • Delegation for relations with Mercosur
  • Delegation to the Euro-Latin American Parliamentary Assembly
  • Delegation to the ACP-EU Joint Parliamentary Assembly (substitute member)

Curriculum Vitae

  • Member of Kilkenny County Council (1974-2002). Chairman, South-Eastern Health Board (1987-1988). Chairman, Vocational Education Authority (1997-2002).
  • Member of Dáil Éireann (1977- 2007): at various times member of the Health Committee, Public Accounts Committee, Sport and Tourism Committee, Foreign Affairs Committee and Public Enterprise and Transport Committee.
  • Minister of State, Department of Energy (1988-1989). Minister for Forestry (1992-1994). Minister for Sport and Youth. Minister of State, Department of Education, Minister of State, Department of Agriculture, Food and Forestry (2002-2004).
  • Member of the European Parliament (since 2004)

Brussels Office

European Parliament
ASP 04F349
rue Wiertz
1047 Brussels

Tel: +32 2 284 5782
Fax: +32 2 284 9782

Strasbourg Office

European Parliament
LOW T13047
Allée du Printemps
67070 Strasbourg Cedex

Tel: +33 388 175 782
Fax: + 33 388 179 782